© Frédéric Albert / Pole communication ENS-PSL

Professor of philosophy of science, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Université PSL

Contact: stephanie.ruphy at ens.psl.eu

AOS: General philosophy of science

  • Scientific Pluralism. The unity /plurality of science debate
  • Metaphysics of science (Reductionism; Natural kinds)
  • Models and simulations
  • Science, values, democracy ; Governance of science ;  Autonomy of science ; Public participation in science
  • Scientific integrity – Responsible research

AOC:  History and philosophy of physics. Logic. Astrophysics. Feminist philosophy of science

More (in French)…

President of the European Philosophy of Science Association (EPSA) (2021-2025)

Member of the governing board of the Philosophy of Science Association (PSA)  (2022-2025)

Director of the French Office for Research Integrity (Ofis) (since 2021)

Full CV (in French)


– PhD (with distinction), Philosophy, Columbia University, 2004, under the supervision of Philip Kitcher
– PhD, Astrophysics, Paris Observatory / Sorbonne University, 1996

– M.A., Philosophy, University of Nanterre, 1996
– M.A., Astrophysics, Sorbonne University, 1993

– B.A., Philosophy, University of Toulouse Le Mirail, France, 1994
– Degree in Aeronautical Engineering, ENSICA, Toulouse, France, 1992

Awards / Fellowships

– Member of the Academia Europaea (elected in September 2018)
– Member of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) (elected in August 2017)

– Young Researcher in the Humanities Forum Award,  European Science Foundation, May 2007
– Visiting Research Fellow, Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh, USA (Fall 2006)
– Strober Fellow, Columbia University (Fall 2003)
– Faculty Fellowship, Columbia University (1998-2003)
– CNRS Fellowship for engineers (1993-1996)
– Visiting Associate, Department of Astronomy, University of California-Berkeley, October 1995

Previous academic appointments

– 2000-2003: Teaching Assistant, Department of Philosophy, Columbia University, USA
– 2004-2012: Associate Professor of philosophy of science, Université de Provence, France
– 2012-2017: Professor of philosophy of science, Université Grenoble Alpes, France
– 2017-2020: Professor of philosophy of science, Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3, France

Memberships of professional organizations

– Member of the Philosophy of Science Association (PSA)
– Founding member of The Society for Philosophy of Science in Practice (SPSP)
– Founding member of the Société de Philosophie des Sciences

Professional service (selection)


– Member of the steering committe of the research network POND (Philosophy Of Science Around the Mediterranean).

– Member of the steering committee of EPSA (European Philosophy of Science Association)

– Review expert for: National Science Foundation (NSF) 2011, 2019 (STS program); Research Committee for the Zukerman Junior Research Fellowship of King’s College Cambridge 2018; Université de Sherbrooke  2019;  ERC  2011-2013.

– Referee for Philosophy of Science, The British Journal for The Philosophy of Science,
The Philosophical Quaterly,  Science & Education, European Journal for Philosophy of
Science, Synthese, Perspectives on Science, Acta Biotheorica, Studies in Philosophy of Science part C, Erkenntnis, HOPOS, Science and Engineering Ethics, Episteme

– Referee for Pittburgh University Press (2018) and MIT Press (2019)

– Co-chair of the EPSA 2013 programme committee (Fourth Biennal Meeting of the European Association of             Philosophy of Science, Helsinki 2012)
– Member of the EPSA 2011 programme committee (Third Biennal Meeting of the European Association of Philosophy of Science, Athens, 2011)
– Co-chair of the programme committee of the Japanese-French plurisciplinary symposiums “Frontiers of Science” (Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science / CNRS / Foreign Office) 2011-2012


– Scientific director of the Research Integrity and Research Ethics Service of Université de Lyon  (2019 – 2020)

– Vice President in charge of Interdisciplinarity, Université Grenoble Alpes (2016-2017)
– Director of the research unit PPL (Philosophie, pratiques et langages), Université Grenoble Alpes (2012-2016)
– Member (nominated) of the National committee of the CNRS (2012-2016)
– Member of the CNFHPS (Comité national français d’histoire et de philosophie des sciences)
(since 2011)
– President of the Société de philosophie des sciences (SPS) (since 2015).